#bookreview – The Lost Child – by @troupann @ukcarina

The Lost ChildThe Lost Child by Ann Troup
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ann Troup’s The Lost Child was in my Kindle TBR pile for a while and when I got to it, I wished I’d read it sooner.
The Lost Child is an engaging thriller that grabs you from the first page and takes you on a turbulent journey. The main character Elaine Ellis has had a strange childhood during which she was ruled by an overprotective and obsessive mother, and because of that, even though she’s in her thirties, she hasn’t ever had a loving relationship with a man. She has a mysterious physical scar that she loathes and tries to hide, but it’s clear that she also has some deep psychological scars as well.
I liked Elaine and I wanted her to finally find happiness with hunky builder Dan, but their desire for each other is marred by her mother who – even after death – finds her way between them and tries to turn Elaine’s happiness sour.
Dan is a great character, hunky and chivalrous, yet very real. He struggles with his feelings for Elaine, his regrets about the past and his fears about the future, but his good heart and determination to try to make things right made me cheer him on.
The Lost Child is extremely well written and I enjoyed the interweaving of genres – from thriller to romance to paranormal. This is not an easy feat, but Ann Troup pulls it off to create a very satisfying read.
The final chapters had my heart racing as I longed for things to work out, yet at times, I actually feared that they might not. I don’t want to spoil the story, so I won’t share too much, but things might not turn out as you expect. Even in the final pages, I gasped as Ann Troup threw one of the characters I was fond of, a bit of a curveball. So when you read this, don’t relax, even when you think everything’s been resolved.
The Lost Child is a gripping page-turner and I thoroughly recommend it!

View all my reviews

Hey there! What are your thoughts? Molly xxx

