#bookreview – The Emerald Comb – by @kathMcGurl #amreading

The Emerald CombThe Emerald Comb by Kathleen McGurl
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The Emerald Comb gripped me from the start with its expert weaving together of two tales. I loved the way that Kath McGurl gradually revealed the secrets of the St Clairs then brought them together with some brilliant twists and turns along the way. Just when I thought I knew what had happened or what the characters were hiding, I was thrown into gasps of delight when the author threw me a curveball.
The story moves effortlessly between the 21st and 19th centuries, engaging the reader in the life of heroine Katie and the lives of her ancestors who resided at the beautiful Kingsley House. I am obsessed with old buildings and certain historical periods, so this novel ticked a lot of boxes for me.
Kath McGurl’s characterisation is flawless and I was intrigued by some of the characters, especially the historical ones – Agnes in particular – because the reader is given insight into their hearts and minds and Kath McGurl shows us that no one is simply good or evil. She also doesn’t shy away from the gritty realities of life and how people often act upon animal impulses in the moment, which made this an even more enjoyable read.
I devoured The Emerald Comb and would highly recommend it!

View all my reviews

Hey there! What are your thoughts? Molly xxx

