Cowboys and Corsets #wildwildcowboys @ukcarina #wildwildwest

I, for one, adore cowboys and corsets. In all of the historical Westerns I’ve written so far, cowboys and corsets feature heavily.

In this post, I’m going to focus on cowboys. (If you want to read about my love of corsets, check out the post Why We Love The Corset at Butterfly Corsets.)

So what is it about cowboys?

I think that a childhood spent with my fabulous little Granny and her own fascination with the Wild West probably started it all. We’d sit and eat hot strawberry jam toasties on a Saturday afternoon, whilst watching the likes of John Wayne, Kirk Douglas and Clint Eastwood swagger across the screen of a tiny portable television. Their arrogance and pride, their chaps and Stetsons and their love of the land all hooked me right there and then. They were respectful towards women (usually) and they would bare knuckle fight anyone who insulted their own woman or family.

BOUND 3D COVER

 

Now, even as a child, I knew that they were acting but it opened a whole new world to me, one where men were chivalrous and masculine with integrity and a thirst for justice. Growing up in the Welsh valleys, the Wild West was a complete contrast and I became fascinated by the wild and rugged landscape and the men who sought to tame it.

My western novels are set in the 1800s. I’m addicted to historical romances and historical novels and I love reading about different times. I’m always thinking ‘what if…’ when I read and write and I like to consider how my characters would have coped with the challenges of day to day life back then, as well as how they’d behave when faced with love and loss. Romance novels require a strong, honourable and sexy hero and cowboys epitomise this. These heroes are brave, deep and honest. They don’t want any trouble but if it finds them, they face it with courage and they stick to their principles – and their guns! 😉 They also have deep dark eyes, broad toned shoulders, thick muscular thighs and abs to die for… but I have to give the heroine (and my lovely reader) a bit of what she fancies!

SCANDAL 3D COVER

Add to these qualities an air of mystery and independence, and what more could you wish for? The cowboy often has a past that would make many lesser men break down but he bears it admirably and he doesn’t harp on about how hard he’s had it. It might mean that he has a secret vulnerability that only the heroine can soothe and when he does ‘open up’, it’s a beautiful and sensitive moment. His desire for independence means that he works his land and he cares for his animals, he has the means to support himself and his family and he doesn’t need anyone or anything else. In fact, he doesn’t give a damn what others think. In a society where we deal constantly with job insecurities, rising living costs and are relentlessly bombarded by the message that we need to be better in all areas of our lives, it’s no wonder that the cowboy hero is so appealing.

What’s that? Did I hear you say… Go on, remind me!

MENAGE 3D COVER

 

He’ll gallop in on his horse, scoop you up in his arms and seat you on the saddle in front of him, then carry you back to his homestead where he’ll make sweet love to you in his rough and ready, yet extremely sensual way, and offer you your Happy Ever After (in more ways than one) as only a cowboy can.

Who’s your favourite cowboy her0? Why not let me know at #wildwildcowboys @ukcarina @misswishlade by Thursday 21st August and you could win some sexy stationery featuring my gorgeous covers for The Wild Wild West novella series.

xxx

3 covers

Hey there! What are your thoughts? Molly xxx

