#bookreview – 5* to Popping the Cherry – by @AureliaBRowl @ukcarina

Popping the CherryPopping the Cherry by Aurelia B. Rowl
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Popping the Cherry is a fabulous novel that gripped me from the first page.
When I started reading it, I thought it would perhaps be a YA tale of the mean girl versus the nice, normal girl but it was SO much more! It was a story about coming of age, about that transformation when you see your parents as people and not just outdated oldies, about realising that your best friend is not as perfect as you always thought she was and it is also a very beautiful and well written romance.
PTC tells the story of Valentina Bell whose friends decide to help her to lose her virginity with Operation: Popping the Cherry. Lena goes through all the wonderfully horrid ups and downs of being a British teen and I was with her all the way. She sees her own flaws in all their glorious colour and the first person narrative allows the reader to empathise completely with her doubts, her fears, her confusion and her attempts at moving on when she thinks that she can’t possibly get the guy she wants. I really liked Lena and was able to identify with her as she reminded me a lot of myself at that age, although this also meant that I cringed with her when she got some things really wrong.
The characters in PTC are realistic and cleverly written and it is clear that Aurelia Rowl has put a lot of hard work and thought into their creation. The hero of the story, hunky builder Jake, will no doubt have younger readers swooning. I have to admit, I swooned a bit myself.
I also really liked that PTC has a moral message about being true to yourself, regardless of what your friends are doing or what you think you should be doing. I like strong, brave characters and although Lena makes some mistakes, as all teens do, she learns from them and develops as a character.
I am excited to know that there will be follow up novels and look forward to reading the next one! 

View all my reviews

One thought on “#bookreview – 5* to Popping the Cherry – by @AureliaBRowl @ukcarina

Hey there! What are your thoughts? Molly xxx

