Book Release – Sin’s Haven – by Carlene Love Flores

untitled (10)


Today I’m interviewing fellow Evernight Publishing author Carlene Love Flores. Her novella, Sin’s Haven, is a contemporary romance and was released on November 28th.

Hey Carlene! Thanks for visiting!

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
I want and believe that what readers will take away from a story is very individual and personal. That’s how reading is for me too. But I would like to share the tagline for the Sin Pointe series which is “Love Will Heal These Wounds.” For anyone who has ever felt pain or shame or like they didn’t belong—my wish is that love will find you and help you through it.

How did you come up with the title of your book or series?
I love this question! I named the series “The Sin Pointe Novels” after the fictional band, Sin Pointe, who the stories are centered around. When I was coming up with the band name, I wanted something that would signify how the guys are constantly tip-toeing on the edge between what is right and wrong. This current story, which technically is “A Sin Pointe Novella”, is called Sin’s Haven and it’s about the band’s quirky, sort of oddball webmaster, Benny. He’s been one of my favorite heroes to write because he’s really stuck between two worlds. One of sin and superstardom and the other kind where most normal people live. When he meets his heroine, she’s his haven from that “in the middle” place where he’s felt outcast for so long. In order, the Sin Pointe Novel titles are: Sidewalk Flower, Sin’s Flower and Sin’s Haven. (Working on the next one now, tentatively called Wicked Flower.)

Give us an interesting fun fact or a few about your book or series.
Interesting fact about my series is that it was inspired by an incredible day and night I spent shadowing the security manager for my favorite band during one of their shows. Although my Sin Pointe stories are entirely fictional, I definitely took the magical feeling I had from that experience and put it down on the page. And a funny fact is the name of the Sin Pointe family cat…Figjam, named by the leader of the band. Can you guess what FIGJAM stands for?

I’m going to have to think about that one! Lol! Anyone else have any ideas?

Will you share some encouraging words for authors still struggling for that first contract?
I’d love to. What I’ve learned on this journey is that it’s different for everyone. I have a friend who has been writing and submitting for seventeen years and she just recently landed her first contract. It’s with Harlequin! When you hear that phrase about the business being subjective, it really is true. Until I got my first contract, I kept this sign on my desk: A lot of wrong people have to say no so that the right one can eventually say yes.

Do you have a critique partner? Can you tell us a bit about them?
I have two and I love them. They have this special way of telling me when a word or phrase makes them want to puke in their mouths without making me cry. And their smiley faces in the columns of my manuscripts go a long way.

Can you share two fun facts about yourself?
My middle name really is Love.
The fact I’m a horrible cook was cemented when my mom told my mother-in-law that I make a great bowl of cereal. (Thanks Mom!)

What’s next for you?
Thanks for asking! I’m working on the next Sin Pointe novel, Wicked Flower, which is about the ultra-naughty bass player, Stefan.

sins-haven

BOOK BLURB
When Sin Pointe webmaster, Benjamin Wright, is publicly humiliated on his birthday, he knows he’s never gonna be able to show his face around the guys again. But an angelic hostess who lets him sleep it off at the club seems surprisingly eager to help him out. Is his luck changing or does she just feel sorry for him?
Hazel Temple, bagel mistress by day and club hostess by night, feels horrible for inadvertently playing a part in Ben’s embarrassment and vows to make it up to him—by telling him they had a sizzling hot one night stand. Still recovering from losing her fiancé to suicide, she worries about Ben when he discovers her lie. Is she bound to hurt the men she cares about?
A Sin Pointe camping trip provides Hazel her chance to get Ben’s groove back.
Will her webmaster be the one to rock her world?

MORE ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Carlene Love Flores is a big fan of the stars (especially Orion), honest music (especially Depeche Mode), and her traveling family (no favorites there-she loves them all). These things inspire her intimate style of romance writing. She feels honored to be a member of Washington DC Romance Writers (WRWDC). Carlene currently lives in the D.C. area where she can often be found listening to live music and looking up at the sky on clear nights. If she could touch someone’s heart with her writing the way others have done for her, she’d say truly there never lived a luckier girl.

How can my readers buy your book?
Readers can go to the publisher’s home page.

You can find more information about Carlene and her book, Sin’s Haven, by visiting her website.

Twitter

Facebook

Goodreads

Amazon Author Page

Pinterest

If you have any questions or comments for Carlene, you know what to do!

Hugs!
Molly xxx

One thought on “Book Release – Sin’s Haven – by Carlene Love Flores

Hey there! What are your thoughts? Molly xxx

